New shows I’m looking forward to!

Okay, so there’s one thing you need to know about me and that is I LOVE television! Every year I get excited waiting for the upfronts and seeing what new shows the networks have decided to give a chance. Last year I wasn’t excited for anything. Sure there were some shows that looked OK, but nothing really seemed special. Except for Sleepy Hollow, Blacklist & Under The Dome, which I fell in love with instantly!

Well this year there are some really BAD shows coming out, but there are also A LOT of great looking ones too! I’ve compiled a list of my favorites below! Believe me, there are really lots of great shows coming out! Watch the trailers & see for yourself! ūüėČ

Mid season¬†shows like ‘Fresh off the boat’ are not included!

 


 

DRAMAS:

1. AMERICAN CRIMES (ABC):

Synopsis: The personal lives of the players involved in a racially charged trial are examined as their worlds are turned upside-down.

My Take: Most likely to be my favorite of the bunch! Looks amazing!

 

2. HOW TO GET AWAY WITH MURDER (ABC):

Synopsis: A sexy, suspense-driven legal thriller about a group of ambitious law students and their brilliant, mysterious criminal defense professor (Viola Davis) who become entangled in a murder plot that will rock their entire university and change the course of their lives.

My Take:¬†Umm, hello?! It’s ¬†Viola Davis & Shonda Rhimes! Of coarse its going to be great! Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal and now this. Shonda can do NO wrong!

3. SECRETS & LIES (ABC):

Synopsis:¬†An adaptation of an Australian series of the same name, this drama stars Ryan Phillippe as a decent North Carolina family man who discovers the dead body of his 4-year-old neighbor ‚ÄĒ and ultimately becomes the prime suspect in the murder.

My Take:¬†Looks like a movie than a show really, but so did ‘Revenge’ & that show ¬†turned out ¬†& STILL IS amazing! Can’t wait to see this & Ryan Phillippe acting again!

4. STALKER (CBS):

Synopsis: A pair of detectives handle stalking incidents for the Threat Management Unit of the LAPD in this thriller. Dylan McDermott will star as Detective Jack Larsen, a recent transfer to the Threat Assessment Unit from the Big Apple.

My Take:¬†Maggie Q back on TV! Yes! and Kevin Williamson (The Following, Vampire Diaries) making another hit show? I think so…

5. STATE OF AFFAIRS (NBC):

Synopsis: CIA attaché (Katherine Heigl) who counsels the president (Alfre Woodard) on international security. She balances her intense political responsibilities with a complicated personal life.

My Take:¬†This year everyones returning back to television, even Katherine Heigl! This looks like it may need some actual time to develop, but looks like it’ll be a great watch when it does!

6. THE WHISPERS (ABC):

Synopsis: A race against the clock to defeat an unseen alien enemy out to destroy the world using our most precious resource against us.

My Take: This one looks so creepy and good!

7. SCORPION (CBS):

Synopsis: An eccentric genius (Elyes Gabel) and his international network of super-geniuses form the last line of defense against the complex threats of the modern age.

My Take: Sounds so weird yet so intriguing!

8. EMPIRE (FOX):

Synopsis: This unique family drama set amidst a hip-hop empire will feature both original and current music.

My Take:¬†Glee ends next season, I need another musical in my life! I fell in love with the idea of this show before even watching the trailer. I’m so happy for this and can not wait!

9. HIEROGLYPH (FOX):

Synopsis: The story of a notorious thief named Ambrose (Max Brown), who must navigate seductive concubines, criminal underbellies and even a few divine sorcerers when he is plucked from prison to serve the Pharaoh.

My Take:¬†This one I wasn’t to sure about and kind of still on the fence. It looks like it could be¬†good, but we’ll have to wait and see!


BASED ON COMIC BOOKS:

1. CONSTANTINE (NBC):

Synopsis: Constantine struggles with his faith as he is haunted by the sins of his past, but he is suddenly thrust into the role of defending humanity from the gathering forces of darkness.

My Take:¬†Looks like it’ll be great, done right of coarse! This years ‘Blacklist’ for NBC?

2. GOTHAM (FOX):

Synopsis: Based on DC Comics characters, this drama explores the origin stories of eventual Batman ally James Gordon (Benjamin McKenzie), a detective with the Gotham City Police Department, and his battle with the villains who made the city famous.

My Take:¬†Before Batman there was ‘GOTHAM’. All I can say is, YES!! I’ve been saying for years this needed to happen & now it is!

3. THE FLASH (THE CW):

Synopsis: Scientist Barry Allen (Grant Gustin) is given the power of super-speed after a freak accident that transforms him into the Fastest Man Alive.

My Take: Arrow fans, are you excited? Cause I am!


COMEDIES:

1. A TO Z (NBC):

Synopsis:¬†How I Met Your Mother’s Cristin Milioti and Mad Men’s Ben Feldman will star in this whimsical romantic comedy set at an online dating company that details the “A to Z’s” of a relationship, from the first meet-cute to the breakup.

My Take:¬†Okay, it looks¬†kind of¬†funny, but to be honest, I’m in it for the story line. Sounds good.

2. THE MCCARTHYS (CBS):

Synopsis: This family comedy is about a loud, sports-crazy Boston clan.

My Take:¬†This is the one that’ll get cancelled, but here’s hoping it won’t! The trailer was actually pretty funny!

3. MARRY ME (ABC):

Synopsis:¬†This half-hour comedy tells the story of longtime couple Annie ( Casey Wilson) and Jake (Ken Marino), who get engaged only to quickly realize it’s harder than it looks.

My Take:¬†The only comedy I’m actually really excited for! It’s Penny from ‘Happy Endings’! She’s Hilarious! Also, the writer of ‘Happy Endings’ is writing this! The trailer looks MEH, but I have faith the show will actually be funny! I have faith! ūüôā

Which of these shows are you most looking forward to? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

