9 Shows On NETFLIX You Need To Catch Up On!

Summer time is where we live for that moment in the sun or that long drive down the highway with our sunglasses on, top down and the music blaring from the speakers. Summer is not a time where we want to sit at home and watch television. We try to devour every second of summer as we can. But, sometimes we get lazy because of that sun or just because we want some me/we time.

Enter Netflix

I’ve compiled a list of great returning shows that you really need to start watching right away before their new seasons start!

#9. Wilfred
20140606-023444-9284892.jpg
(Seasons Available: 1 & 2)
The 4th & final season starts June 25th, 2014.

What’s it about?
A man named Ryan who hangs out with a dog. Everyone sees a dog, he sees a man in a dog costume.

Why should I watch?
You will find yourself laughing out loud at some of the things these two get themselves into! It’s hilarious to get a glimpse inside of a dogs mind, although sometimes disturbing. I dare you to find a show like this one! You won’t because it’s one of a kind!

How many episodes till I’m hooked?
It only took the first episode for me to fall in love with it!

Trailer:

#8. Bates Motel

20140606-025254-10374609.jpg

(Seasons Available: Season 1)
Here’s hoping season 2 will be available soon on Netflix!

What’s it about?
Norma Bates moves into town with her son Norman and buy a motel but have trouble getting anyone to stay there. Norman is a mommas boy and hides a dark secret.

Why should I watch?
It’s creepy! But honestly, if you’re looking to be scared, this is the wrong show for you. This is more of a thriller more than anything else. Nothing scary here but the creepy factor is turned way up! The best time to watch this is huddled under the covers on a rainy afternoon, trust me! Haha.

How many episodes till I’m hooked?
Once again, I was hooked with the first episode! Very enjoyable and such a quick and easy watch!

Trailer:

 

#7. Melissa and Joey

20140606-030412-11052338.jpg
(Seasons Available: 1, 2 & 3A)
Season 3B just ended on TV, should be on Netflix soon!

What’s it about?
Mel Burke, who is hip and young takes on the responsibility of both her nephew and niece. And than she hires Joe the “Manny” as a trial run and ends up loving the way he is with the kids and hires him full time.

Why should I watch?
Because if you loved those family comedies from back in the day, than you’ll love this! It really has no melodramatic moments like Full House, but that’s kind of what makes it great. Melissa Joan Hart and Joey Lawrence are great but the real comedy comes from both teenagers.

How many episodes till I’m hooked?
5 short 20 minute episodes! 🙂

Trailer:

 

#6. Baby Daddy

20140607-014529-6329065.jpg
(Seasons Available: 1 & 2)
Season 3 just ended on TV, hopefully it’ll be on Netflix soon!

What’s it about?
Ben lives with his best friend, enjoying their single-playboy type lives. That is until a baby gets dropped off by one of Bens one night stands. Now he must manage to live a life as a dad along with the help of his best friend Tucker, his brother Danny, his childhood friend Riley and his bat crazy mother.

Why should I watch?
I know this show seems like it wouldn’t be that funny but it really is! & you fall in love with these characters and their lives. Amy, who is Bens mother, Tucker & Danny are my favorite. Very funny & sweet show!

How many episodes till I’m hooked?
3

Trailer:

 

#5. It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia

20140607-014727-6447865.jpg
(Seasons Available: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 & 8)
I’m sure season 9 will be up on Netflix before season 10 premiere in January 2015!
Also, not only has it been renewed for season 10, but it’s already renewed for seasons 11 & 12!

What’s it about?
What is this show about? No, seriously? There really is nothing I can say besides it’s about a group of friends who run a bar.

Why should I watch?
Okay, this never, ever seemed like a show I’d be interested I’m. But one day I just put it on because I was tired of looking around Netflix and I’m glad I did! I’ve laughed so much at moments in this show to the point that I had actual tears in my eyes from laughing! They are crazy, and every episode there’s like a new “dare” or a new “mission” they get into and it’s hilarious. Like for example, there is an episode where two of the characters have the most delicious meal they’ve ever had and when they ask what kind of meat it was, they get told it’s human meat. So they go out looking for the “juiciest” looking human. LOL. Sounds completely bizarre, right?! But I’m telling you, it’s one of the funniest shows ever made.

How many episodes till I’m hooked?
I forgot how many there were till I was hooked but I remember watching one full season one day (there are only like 10 episodes a season, 30 minutes long, so it’s not that bad). But I’ll say watch about 5 episodes before completely judging it. 🙂

Trailer:
There aren’t any REAL trailers I could find! You’ll just have to take my word for it! Lol

#4. The Vampire diaries

20140607-014919-6559367.jpg
(Seasons Available: 1, 2, 3 & 4)
Season 5 just ended on TV… Here’s hoping Netflix hurry’s up and puts it on instant just before the season 6 premiere! (They always do!)

What’s it about?
A girl named Elena who falls for a vampire named Stefan. Than his brother returns to town and starts to show interest for Elena as well. But that’s honestly JUST THE BEGINNING…

Why should I watch?
OKAY, I feel like this has to be said… THIS IS NOT TWILIGHT!! Believe me! Besides the whole falling for a vampire thing, and the whole love triangle story, that’s pretty much all that the two have in common. But The Vampire Diaries is so bad ass! Lol honestly, it’s in my opinion the best vampire show ever made. Now, don’t cut off my head, I do love me some Buffy & True Blood, but there is something very special about this show and you’ll see it once you give it a shot. At first, it seems like another teen drama but once it evolves, it’s absolutely fantastic! I also love the whole werewolf & witches aspect of it and the humans are so much apart of the story as the supernatural creatures. GIVE THIS ONE A SHOT. You’ll thank me in the end. 😉

How many episodes till I’m hooked?
It wasn’t till the end of the 7th episode that my brain started screaming “okay, now this is getting interesting!” Lol

Trailer:

 

#3. Scandal

20140607-014936-6576465.jpg
(Seasons Available: ALL 3! A short 7 episode season 1, a full 22 episode season 2, and an AMAZING 18 episode 3rd season that was cut short a few episodes due to Kerri Washington’s Pregnacy!)

What’s it about?
You really don’t know? Everyone talks about it! Lol. It’s about Olivia Pope who formally worked for the President of the United States. She leaves to start her own firm. She tries her hardest to leave her past behind her but it isn’t as easy as she’d like it to be.

Why should I watch?
So you can be a part of the 10 million + people who tune in every week? Haha. Scandal is a show that literally has you at the edge of your seat by the end of every episode! I find myself saying “NO WAY” everytime! I SWEAR, BELIEVE ALL THE HYPE!!

How many episodes till I’m hooked?
I wasn’t a fan of the first season (7 Episodes). But I knew there was something special by the first episode of season 2!

Trailer:

 

#2. The Fosters

20140607-014957-6597359.jpg
Seasons Available: The Complete First Season!)
Season 2 premieres on June 16th 2014!

What’s it about?
A story about two moms, Lena & Stef who are raising three children, two twins- Jesus and Mariana, and Stefs biological son Brandon. A foster girl named Callie, freshly out of jail, goes and lives with a family who quickly fall in love with her. She starts to realize what she wants the most in life is a real family.

Why should I watch?
Warning… Don’t watch unless you have time to invest in it because watching one episode may not be enough! It’s hard not to click on the next episode! Before you know it, you’ll be done with the entire season and asking yourself why you still haven’t ate anything. Lol. Also, the acting in this show (mainly from the actors who play Callie, Jude & The moms) are great! The show deals with with a lot, but it’s not over the top. Which is why I love it.

How many episodes till I’m hooked?
This one really only needs one episode! But honestly, if you’re not somewhat interested by the end if the 2nd episode, I’d leave it be. You’re obviously missing something. Although, you’ll never forgive yourself for it. Plus, it’s hard not to love it from the start! 🙂

Trailer:

 

#1. Orange is the new black

20140607-015018-6618242.jpg
(Seasons available: The first TWO seasons!)
Season 2 premiered TODAY on Netflix!

What’s it about?
A woman named Piper who has to go to prison for a crime she did in the past. The show is viewed respectively through her life in prison as well as her life before she went to prison.

Why should I watch?
Because it’s great! No, I’m being completely serious! I watched this show with a friend before knowing anything about it because the woman pictured in the poster looked a lot like Katy Perry, and was curious to see if it was. Of coarse it wasn’t, but we ended up watching the show and falling in love! This show is funny -yet serious. You’ll be laughing one minute, but than feeling sorry for someone the next. Either that or you’ll just be screaming over the things that go on with these ladies! And that finale! I can’t wait to find out what happens next! Why am I still here? Season 2… here I come!

How many episodes till I’m hooked?
I liked it from the first episode, but I can see someone needing about 3 episodes to be fully on board.

Trailer:

 

I hope you enjoy these shows as much as I do! Please let me know what you think in the comments and what shows would you choose as your top Must Watch! 🙂

Johnny Bobby xox

Leave a Reply

